Tempeh Steak & Kale Bowl

There’s something I love about cooking really yummy, hearty food & throwing it in a bowl haha. I call these types of dinner, “Shit in a Bowl” lol! This is genuinely how I cook 90% of the time, why? Because most of the time, I just cook intuitively!

My favorite vibe? Throwing on some vibes music, tapping into my creative brain, & just launch myself into flow by connecting with my food. Choosing every ingredient intuitvely & cooking with gratitude energy for these vibrant plants that I know are being prepared for the betterment of my body, mind, & soul. & then! next thing I know, I’ve created something not only yummy on the eyes … but extra yummy in the tummy 🙂

So with that being said, this is a “shit in a bowl” receipe I’m constantly changing & switching up but its basis, has been such a staple in my plant based lifestyle cause just, YUM! This one I like to call, Tempeh Steak Bowls.

While I was living with my best friends, who are also plant based, under the same roof – we used to cook this ALL the time. Sometimes we had them as plates with sweet potato mash & collard greens, or we would make it this way. Thats why I love it so much, its truly so versatile! The tempeh’s texture isn’t 100% a steak texture substitute like oyster mushrooms or seiten can be, but its close enough! I thoroughly enjoy using tempeh because its fermented soy beans which is not only amazing for the gut but because its fermented, its a great soy meat substitute that has little phytoestrogen!

Anyways, enough talk! Lets get into this bad boy! So sauces, just be aware you can use any kind you want! Instead of A1, I like to use Primal Kitchen’s, Organic, Sugar Free Steak Sauce. The ingredients alone are so impressive & it truly tastes similar to A1! On that same note, I also love to add a little garlic sriracha BBQ sauce from trader joes (our favorite) for some tang & …. YOU ALREADY KNOW – ya girl’s favorite hot sauce, Lousisana Crystal Hot Sauce for spice…talk about yum! 🙂

As always, you can use what you love! These are just my preferences! I hope you enjoy this hearty one! feel-good my loves:)

Tempeh Steak & Kale Bowls

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 a block of tempeh
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes
  • 1 cup brussel sprouts
  • 1 cup baby bella mushrooms
  • 2 cups of kale
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • salt
  • pepper
  • garlic powder
  • cayenne pepper
  • trader joes mushroom umami seasoning
  • Steak Sauce
  • BBQ sauce
  • Hot Sauce

First things first, about an hour at min. before your start cooking, add your measurement preferences of each sauce in a plastic baggie! Add a little seasoning if you like & add your sliced tempeh & seal away! Make sure your tempeh is fully coated & throw it in the fridge until its time to cook. We’re doing a mini marinade of the tempeh so we can allow these flavors to soak into our tempeh for a flavorful “steak” flavor!

Now, you want to start with ensuring your Brussel sprouts are steamed & ready for sautéing! If you can’t steam them, boil them until their vibrant green & soft enough to plug your fork through! What I like to do, is throw them in a quick little ice bath to cool them down & shock them before I cut them in halves. Throw your slices Brussels sprouts & in your hot pan with evoo on medium heat. Here we can start cutting our other veggies – sweet potatoes, onions, & mushrooms. Start with throwing in the sweet potatoes first as they will take the longest to cook (I personally like to do it this way because I like the char the longer cooking time gives the SP’s BUT you can repeat the same process as you did with the brussel sprouts if you’d like to boil them first!). Give it about 5-6 min & then throw in the rest of your veggies! Add a little extra evoo & sauté!

On a separate hot oiled pan or grill, add your marinated sliced tempeh! While you go these both going, season your veggies & potatoes as preferred! Right before I turn off the flame, add your first cup of kale & cover to allow the kale to wilt a bit. I like to make sure its all coated & when I know its all ready – is when there’s a nice little char on it all! The tempeh will become golden brown & the veggies will cooked through & a little crispy.

In a serving bowl, add your second cup of kale & lemon juice. Here, we want to massage the juice & the kale. Bring out your intentions of nourishment & gratitude – happy kale happy life 🙂 Once its all coated, add your veggies, potatoes, & marinated tempeh! I like to give it a good little mix – & there you go!

Hearty, Yummy, & Tangy 🙂 Enjoy!

Leave a comment